Toxic Holocaust Detail 'Chemistry of Consciousness'

Toxic Holocaust Detail 'Chemistry of Consciousness'
More than a few details were up in the air about Portland thrash crew Toxic Holocaust's upcoming Chemistry of Consciousness LP earlier this summer, but the band have recently come through with a tracklisting, cover art and an October 29 release date in North America via Relapse Records. The album arrives October 25 in Benelux, Germany and Finland, and October 28 in the UK and the rest of the world.

As previously reported, the LP was recorded by the band themselves, while Converge guitarist Kurt Ballou mixed it at his GodCity Studio, and Brad Boatright (Sleep, From Ashes Rise, Nails) did the mastering at Audiosiege Engineering. While it had previously been hinted that 12 songs would appear on Chemistry of Consciousness, that's now been slimmed down to 11 new tunes.

Described in a press release as "a perfect marriage of punk angst and metal guitar hooks," the band's latest LP, their first since 2011's Conjure and Command, is said to be inspired by the likes of the Exploited, Slayer, Discharge and Metallica.

It features vividly titled tracks like "Awaken the Serpent," "Rat Eater" and "Acid Fuzz," and while none of these songs have been previewed in full, you can get a small taste of what to expect via a new album trailer. You can see it down below, and peep the reasonably bizarre snake with a DNA tattoo that acts as the cover star up above.

Pre-orders are being taken now for physical editions of Chemistry of Consciousness, including vinyl variations on "neon yellow with black splatter" and standard black wax. You can check out the details over here.

Chemistry of Consciousness:

1. Awaken the Serpent
2. Silence
3. Rat Eater
4. Salvation is Waiting
5. Out of the Fire
6. Acid Fuzz
7. Deny the Truth
8. Mkultra
9. I Serve...
10. International Conspiracy
11. Chemistry of Consciousness