AFI Offshoot Blaqk Audio Return with 'Beneath the Black Palms'

The duo have shared five new songs from the record
AFI Offshoot Blaqk Audio Return with 'Beneath the Black Palms'
Davey Havok and Jade Puget of emo veteran troupe AFI have returned with plans for a new album as their synth-pop side-project Blaqk Audio. Side A of their new record, Beneath the Black Palms, is out now, while the rest will be released on August 21 via Warner.

"Beneath the Black Palms is an affirmation, exaltation, and momentary illumination of rich, arcane shadows fortified by blinding and rapturous light," Havok said of the record in an extremely on-brand statement.

"Musically a bird sister of [2019's] Only Things We Love, our latest record more deeply traverses our EBM and futurepop roots while also extending into moods unheard from us before," he added. "I am deeply excited to have the opportunity to share it with all."

Puget and Havok have highlighted their single "Hiss" for the announcement, a song that Puget described as, "is a lovely slice of noisy darkness," adding that, if you listen closely, "you can hear the susurration of the palms."

You can listen in for the palms in the player down below, where you'll also find the streamer for Side A, as well as the full tracklisting for Beneath the Black Palms.

Beneath the Black Palms:

1. Consort
2. Zipper Don't Work
3. 1948
4. A Distant Light
5. Hiss
6. Burnt Babies Fear the Fire
7. Fish Bite 
8. Bird Sister
9. I'm Coming Over
10. Tired Eyes
11. It's Not Going Well

Pre-order Beneath the Black Palms.