Amebix Reissue and Expand 'Arise!'

Amebix Reissue and Expand 'Arise!'
Though Amebix called it quits for the second time back at the end of 2012, the classic UK crust crew's catalogue is being revived via an upcoming deluxe edition of their debut LP, Arise!

Originally delivered in 1985 via Alternative Tentacles and re-released by the imprint in 2000, this latest, expended version of Arise! lands November 3 in the UK through the outfit's own Amebix Records. It's set to arrive in North American retailers November 25.

The first disc of the double-CD edition houses a newly remastered version of the original nine-song album and extra cuts "Right to Ride" and "Beyond the Sun," which had also been added to the later reissue on Alternative Tentacles. The second disc, meanwhile, features a set recorded at London's Ambulance Station venue in 1985, which found Amebix playing Arise! in full.

A statement from the group's Rob "the Baron" Miller attempted to contextualize Arise!, a crossover record melding crust with heavy metal textures that he described as presenting "a heavy monstrous sound without the widdly solos and spandex."

"It is difficult from this distance to appreciate how strange this record was when it first appeared, not fast enough for the punks, too primitive for the metalheads, but it has gradually gained its audience, with Max and Igor of Sepultura proudly citing it as an influence for their own works," the Baron said.

You'll find the tracklisting info for the set down below. The new cover art, prepped by Andy Lefton off band members Stig and the Baron's original design, is up above. The reissue can be pre-ordered here.


Disc one:

1. The Moor
2. Axeman
3. Fear Of God
4. Largactyl
5. Drink And Be Merry
6. Spoils Of Victory
7. Arise!
8. Slave
9. The Darkest Hour
10. Right To Ride (bonus track)
11. Beyond The Sun  (bonus track)

Disc two: The Ambulance Station: Live in London 2nd February 1985:

1. The Moor
2. Largactyl
3. Axeman
4. Spoils of Victory
5. The Fear of God
6. Fallen from Grace
7. Slave
8. Arise!
9. Drink and be Merry
10. The Darkest Hour
11. Largactyl