Angel Olsen Announces 'All Mirrors' Companion Album 'Whole New Mess'

Check out the record's title track
Angel Olsen Announces 'All Mirrors' Companion Album 'Whole New Mess'
Earlier this year, singer-songwriter Angel Olsen promised that she was plotting a companion piece to her 2019 LP All Mirrors, and today details of that project have emerged.

Called Whole New Mess, the album features stripped-down, solo performances of songs from All Mirrors, as well as two previously unheard compositions.

The new versions of the songs were recorded at the Unknown — a former church that is now a recording studio run by Phil Elverum and Nicholas Wilbur in Anacortes, WA. 

"I hadn't been to the Unknown, but I knew about its energy. I wanted to go sit with the material and be with it in a way that felt like a residency," Olsen said in a press release. "I didn't need a lot, since it was just me and a guitar. But I wanted someone else there to hold me accountable for trying different things."

Jagjaguwar will release Whole New Mess on August 28. The album's title track is available below via a new video.

Whole New Mess:

1. Whole New Mess
2. Too Easy (Bigger Than Us)
3. (New Love) Cassette
4. (We Are All Mirrors)
5. (Summer Song)
6. Waving, Smiling
7. Tonight (Without You)
8. Lark Song
9. Impasse (Workin' for the Name)
10. Chance (Forever Love)
11. What It Is (What It Is)