Devin Townsend Readies 'Order of Magnitude' Live Album

The career-spanning set was captured on his 2019 winter tour
Devin Townsend Readies 'Order of Magnitude' Live Album
For an album as ambitious as Devin Townsend's Empath, it makes sense that an equally ambitious stage show was put together to match, and the Canadian will chronicle that time on the road last year with a new live release.

Townsend's Order of Magnitude – Empath Live Volume 1 will arrive October 23 through InsideOut Music. The 16-track set — which features material from the Devin Townsend Band, Devin Townsend Project and solo outings — is a document of his winter 2019 European tour.

Townsend's band for the tour featured guitarists Mike Kenneally (ex-Frank Zappa) and Markus Reuter (Stick Men, the Crimson Project), drummer Morgen Ågren, bassist Nathan Navarro, Haken keyboard player Diego Tejeida, guitarist/vocalist and his Casualties of Cool bandmate Ché Aimee Dorval, and vocalists Samantha and Anne Preis, as well as Arabella Packford.

"I was overwhelmed by the fact that all these brilliant people that I have so much respect for were willing to come together and play this weird shit with me," Townsend expressed in a statement. "I had these unique players and this interesting instrumentation that allowed us to interpret the music in different ways. It was clear to me that I could just have fun and be me and know that they would be effortlessly be able to follow that."

Order of Magnitude will see release as a limited Deluxe 2CD/Blu-Ray/DVD Artbook package (including expanded artwork and photos), a limited 2CD+DVD Digipak, gatefold 3LP+2CD vinyl box set and more. Pre-orders for the album launch August 28.

A press release explains that Townsend's tour plans for Empath Live Volume 2, which will include more of his heavy material, were put on hold due to COVID-19. He is, however, already looking ahead to new album Lightwork.

Order of Magnitude - Empath Live Volume 1:

1. Borderlands
2. Evermore
3. War
4. Sprite
5. Gigpig Jam
6. Coast
7. Gato
8. Heavens End
9. Ain't Never Gonna Win
10. Deadhead
11. Why?
12. Lucky Animals
13. Castaway / Genesis
14. Spirits Will Collide
15. Disco Inferno
16. Kingdom