Jeff Tweedy Announces Solo Album 'Love Is the King'

The Wilco frontman has shared the title track and "Guess Again"
Jeff Tweedy Announces Solo Album 'Love Is the King'
Jeff Tweedy is already releasing a memoir this fall, and now the Wilco frontman has announced a solo album as well. Love Is the King will be out on October 23 via dBpm Records.

This is Tweedy's third solo album in as many years, following 2018's WARM and 2019's WARMER (not to mention Wilco's 2019 album, Ode to Joy). As a preview, he has released the new singles "Guess Again" and "Love Is the King."

In an announcement, Tweedy explained a bit about the new album, and these songs in particular:

At the beginning of the lockdown I started writing country songs to console myself. Folk and country type forms being the shapes that come most easily to me in a comforting way. "Guess Again" is a good example of the success I was having at pushing the world away, counting my blessings — taking stock in my good fortune to have love in my life. A few weeks later things began to sound like "Love Is the King" — a little more frayed around the edges with a lot more fear creeping in. Still hopeful but definitely discovering the limits of my own ability to self soothe.

Love Is the King is available to pre-order here. The initial release will be digital-only, with a physical release date to be determined later. See the tracklist below.

Tweedy has his band will perform a drive-in show at McHenry Outdoor Theater in McHenry, IL, on September 18. The show will be livestreamed.

Love Is the King:

1. Love Is the King
2. Opaline

3. A Robin or a Wren

4. Gwendolyn

5. Bad Day Lately

6. Even I Can See

7. Natural Disaster

8. Save It for Me

9. Guess Again

10. Troubled

11. Half-Asleep