Merzbow Readies New Album 'Noise Mass'

It's a "revised version" of his 1994 full-length 'Hole'
Merzbow Readies New Album 'Noise Mass'
After giving his Venereology album the reissue treatment earlier this year, Merzbow is revisiting another of his releases from 1994 for a new full-length release.

The artist born Masami Akita will deliver a new album titled Noise Mass on July 12 through Room40. The LP is said to be a revised version of his 1994 release Hole and will be accompanied by a book that "catalogues a critical period within the continuum of Merzbow."

Akita reflected on said continuum as follows:

This was around the time Venereology was released from Relapse and the work of Merzbow became more well known to the world. Far greater quantities of that Relapse release were pressed, and much more promotion along with it. In other words, the image of Merzbow's music as it is best known in the world today came from this time. The music of Merzbow has always been a continuum, the piece added this time to Noise Mass, the revised version of Hole, is a work utilising a voice similar in style to Venereology. Listening to both Hole and Venereology, one can appreciate how these works constitute a thread of continuity through this period.​

For a taste of the new album, you can listen to the lead-off track "Voicematrix Pt.1" below.

Noise Mass:

1. Voicematrix Pt.1
2. Noisematrix Pt.1
3. Noisematrix Pt.2
4. Kraft-Ebings Dick
5. Voicematrix Pt.2