Polaris Music Prize Adds Greg MacPherson's 'Fireball' to Long List Due to "Miscalculation"

Polaris Music Prize Adds Greg MacPherson's 'Fireball' to Long List Due to 'Miscalculation'
While last week, organizers from the Polaris Music Prize announced the long list for the 2014 edition of the prize, it turns out that there's actually another nominee to report. Due to a miscalculation, indie folk artist Greg MacPherson's Fireball has been added to long list.

A press release from Polaris confirms that the miscalculation is due to their new web-based voting system, explaining that "an error was discovered and corrected yesterday [June 23]." The error wasn't explained beyond that, but this means that the 2014 long list now features 41 acts as opposed to the customary 40.

As previously announced, the now 41-album-deep long list will be whittled down to a short list of 10 nominees on July 15, with the announcement taking place at Toronto's Carlu. A Grand Jury will be selected later in the summer, with the winner being announced September 22 at the Polaris Gala, also to be held at the Carlu.

The updated long list is as follows:

Arcade Fire - Reflektor
AroarA - In the Pines
Austra - Olympia
Philippe B - Ornithologie, la nuit
Basia Bulat - Tall Tall Shadow
Chromeo - White Women
Cousins - The Halls of Wickwire
Cowboy Junkies / Various - The Kennedy Suite
The Darcys - Warring
Dead Obies - Montréal $ud
Mac DeMarco - Salad Days
DIANA - Perpetual Surrender
Drake - Nothing Was the Same
Freedom Writers - NOW
Fresh Snow - I
Frog Eyes - Carey's Cold Spring
Gorguts - Colored Sands
Tim Hecker - Virgins
Jimmy Hunt - Maladie d'amour
Jessy Lanza - Pull My Hair Back
Greg MacPherson - Fireball
Kalle Mattson - Someday, the Moon Will Be Gold
Moonface - Julia with Blue Jeans On
Mounties - Thrash Rock Legacy
Odonis Odonis - Hard Boiled Soft Boiled
Owen Pallett - In Conflict
Pink Mountaintops - Get Back
The Sadies - Internal Sounds
Shad - Flying Colours
Shooting Guns - Brotherhood of the Ram
Solids - Blame Confusion
Rae Spoon - My Prairie Home
The Strumbellas - We Still Move on Dance Floors
Tanya Tagaq - Animism
Thus Owls - Turning Rocks
Timber Timbre - Hot Dreams
Chad VanGaalen - Shrink Dust
Bry Webb - Free Will
Yamantaka // Sonic Titan - UZU